Raleigh – Tudor Adventurer by Tony Riches

Tony Riches has a flare for writing trilogies. First, his Tudor series which brings us the stories of Owen, Jasper, and Henry Tudor along with the founding of the Tudor dynasty. Then his Brandon trilogy which features Henry VIII’s sister Mary Tudor, Charles Brandon a Tudor knight, and Katherine Willoughby, a favourite of Henry VIII.

Tony’s third trilogy, the Elizabethan Series, includes stories of three famous and dashing men: Sir Francis Drake, Robert Devereux, the Earl of Essex, and Sir Walter Raleigh. Each of these men earns the special favour of Queen Elizabeth’s attention through their adventuring, heroic deeds, intellect, intrigue, and the love they bear for their Queen.

Tony writes with flare and a passion for this period of time. As he said in a guest post on Adventures of a Tudor Nerd, his “aim is to tell the stories of the Tudors from Owen Tudor’s first meeting with Queen Catherine of Valois through to the death of Queen Elizabeth.” And with his latest series, he features the world of Elizabeth I’s court, a world of wealth, privilege, and hierarchy; a world of negotiation, politics, winners, and losers.

All of Tony’s novels are biographical fiction. He uses deep research and writing skills to bring the stories and personalities of these real people to life. Trust me, I’ve read five of them and can highly recommend his novels.

Raleigh – Tudor Adventurer by Tony Riches ~~ Based on extensive research, original letters and records of the Elizabethan Court, this new account explores the life of Tudor adventurer, courtier, explorer and poet, Sir Walter Raleigh, who has been called the last true Elizabethan.

He didn’t dance or joust, didn’t come from a noble family, or marry into one. So how did an impoverished law student become a favourite of the queen, and Captain of the Guard?

The story which began with the Tudor trilogy follows Walter Raleigh from his first days at the Elizabethan Court to the end of the Tudor dynasty.

You can read other posts about Tony’s writing such as What I’ve Learned from Writing the Tudor Trilogy or Inside Historical Fiction with Tony Riches.


M.K. Tod writes historical fiction. Her latest novel is THE ADMIRAL’S WIFE, a dual timeline set in Hong Kong. Mary’s other novels, PARIS IN RUINS, TIME AND REGRET, LIES TOLD IN SILENCE and UNRAVELLED are available from AmazonNookKoboGoogle Play and iTunes. She can be contacted on FacebookTwitter and Goodreads or on her website www.mktod.com.

Share this post

About the Author

Picture of Meet M.K.Tod

Meet M.K.Tod

The historical fiction author behind A Writer of History...

All Categories

Subscribe to the Blog

Receive the latest posts on writing and reading historical fiction via email.

Join 2,217 other subscribers

Leave a Reply